cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling frame rate and ROI on a ge680 using IMAQdx

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm working with a ge680 camera and I'm trying to write a VI to record images from my microscope. I'm very new to labview and am still stuck with a few things. First, I want to be able to control the frame rate, but I haven't been able to find an efficient way to do it using my camera's attributes. When I used the "grab and basic attributes" VI to play with the settings. The framerateabs setting was all I could alter and it didn't effect my frame rate in the end. Also, I'm having the problem that my frame rate won't exceed 66hz on a camera "capable" of 200. Second, I'd like to be able to record only a region of interest. I've gotten it down as far as finding the "height" "width" "offset X" and "offset Y" controls. However, I can only use those before the acquisition mode has begun, which is sort of a pain to use. I haven't been able to find anything relating to how to set it during acquisition.

I've attached the VI I've been working with, as well as the settings file from my camera if anyone would like to have a look. Thanks for all your help!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,405 Views)

Hi,

I believe on that camera the AcquisitionFrameRateAbs feature is only used if you put the camera into a Fixed Rate mode. This can be done by setting the TriggerSource feature from FreeRun to [I believe] FixedRate.

You might not be getting 200fps because it is being bounded by your exposure time. On most cameras the exposure time will trump the desired frame rate. You would have to make sure it is below 5ms to get 200fps.