Linux Users

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem launching VIPM on openSUSE 15.1

I have installed openSUSE 15.1 on my laptop and on a VM.  In both cases, I am unable to launch VIPM.  When I try, an error message comes up:  Unable to open x display.

I have confirmed this behavior with both the Wayland and Xorg x servers (echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE).

I have been successful in using VIPM with CentOS.  However, I would prefer to use openSUSE if possible.  If anyone has any suggestions, I would be open to trying them.  Please keep in mind that I am new to Linux, so please be patient with me.  Also, whatever I need to do to transition over to Linux for development will be better than what I am enduring using Windows.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,104 Views)

Additional Information:

I installed openSUSE 15.1 (Desktop with KDE Plasma), then followed the instructions here to install support for LabVIEW 2015RTE 32-bit.  After extracting the archive files, I moved the /JKI/ directory to /usr/local/.  After running the INSTALL script, the message Installation Completed comes up, and no errors or warnings were displayed during the process.  I changed to the /usr/local/JKI/VIPM directory and entered 'sudo ./vipm' and the message "Unable to open X display" appears.  After typing 'echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE' the response is "x11".

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(5,075 Views)

Hello DLJ,

Did you ever get this resolved?

I have the same issue as you and would appreciate your help.

Warmest Regards,

HoSsEiN

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(5,026 Views)

After some tinkering, I finally found a work-around for this problem.  Please keep in mind that I have just installed openSUSE as an operating system, and as such I did not have any personal files at risk here.