Linux Users

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI-RIO 3.5 drivers, 64bit and realtime possible?

Hello,

I'm still a student and quite new to the Rio boards but I already managed to make a DAQmx boards running under openSuse, and the PCI-7811R under Scientific Linux, with the help of this Community. But now my task is to make the board running under a realtime Linux with a machine that has 64bit. We need the board for a simulation. Could you give me an advice which Linux distros might work under realtime with the NI-RIO drivers?

At the moment I'm trying to install the board under an evaluation version from RedHat with a 2.6.18-186.el5-x86-64 kernel and while installing I get this error:

[.....]

Installing NI-RIO Driver version 3.5.0f2...
Pre Installation .
Post Installation .
Pre Installation .....................
Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
[........]
   19:niriosysapii           ########################################### [100%]

Post Installation .
Warning: nikali post installation failed! /tmp/nikaliPostInstall.log follows:
ERROR: failed to build NiRioSrv.ko
  NiRioSrv.ko failed to update.
Update of National Instruments drivers failed.
Updating modversions database to include newly installed drivers...

[..............]

NI-RIO Driver Installation completed with errors.

I tried things like 'make modules_prepare' that fixed other errors, but on reinstall i always get this error, and now, of course i get an error when i reboot (could not find niRioSrv.ko or something like that).

Is there anybody how experienced this error too, or even better, has experience with an NI-RIO board and a realtime Linux?

Until now my plan was to try the RedHat MRG (realtime) platform.

I would be very glad about helpful information.

Thanks,

Daniel Heintges

ACS - RWTH Aachen

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,375 Views)