LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

link error cvistart.lib

Hello community,

I am new to Labwindows (using version 6.0.0).

I am trying to run an inherited project which is configured to debug setting, but the project will not successfully build.

The project has 5 files: 2 .h files, 1 .uir file, 1 .c, and 1 .fp.

When I try to run the .exe, the BUILD ERRORS window opens with the message:

Project link error.
Undefined symbol '_main' referenced in "c:\program files\national instruments\measurementstudio\cvi\bin\cvistart.lib"

I've checked the help files, online forums, and google, but can't find an answer to the solution.

Where and how do I start the debug process for this error?

Is there an editor where I can view the contents of cvistart.lib?

Is this particular error due to the "_" preceding main? I'm thinking more than likely it is something with my code. I have successfully run some of the included CVI sample projects, but others have given me errors.

Any help out there?

Thanks.

LT2005
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,630 Views)
If you are creating an exe, you need have a function main() or WinMain() defined in your application. The prototype is as follows

int main (int argc, char *argv[])
int __stdcall WinMain (HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
LPSTR lpszCmdLine, int nCmdShow)

This is where the exe execution starts. Check to see if you have a main defined.

If this project was initially meant to be a dll with exported functions, change the project target settings to specify that. To do this, go to Build >> Target Type, and specify Dynamic Link Library.

Hope this helps
Bilal Durrani
NI
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(7,608 Views)
Hello LT2005,

The _main link error usually occurs when a main function is not declared in one of your included source files. The cvistart.lib function is throwing an error because CVI will look for a main() function as a start point for you application.