From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recording a continuous stream of data to a txt file?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, everyone! I'm fairly new to CVI, and was wondering if I could get some help on something. I'm trying to modify a sample file that continuously reads a voltage from a daq board. I'd like to record that data to a text file, but I'm fairly new to the C programming language (I'm a java person), and can't distinguish where the data is. Once I know where the data is, I think I can write the data using some sort of loop and the fprintf function. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is the code for the StartCallBack method of the "Cont Acq-Int Clk"sample file I'm using: 

int CVICALLBACK StartCallback(int panel, int control, int event, void *callbackData, int eventData1, int eventData2)
{
int32 error=0;
char chan[256];
uInt32 sampsPerChan;
float64 min,max,rate;
int log;
char errBuff[2048]={'\0'};

if( event==EVENT_COMMIT ) {
GetCtrlVal(panel,PANEL_CHANNEL,chan);
GetCtrlVal(panel,PANEL_MINVAL,&min);
GetCtrlVal(panel,PANEL_MAXVAL,&max);
GetCtrlVal(panel,PANEL_RATE,&rate);
GetCtrlVal(panel,PANEL_SAMPSPERCHAN,&sampsPerChan);
SetCtrlAttribute(panel,PANEL_STRIPCHART,ATTR_XAXIS_GAIN,1.0/rate);
log = (int)log10(rate);
SetCtrlAttribute(panel,PANEL_STRIPCHART,ATTR_XPRECISION,log);
SetCtrlAttribute(panel,PANEL_STRIPCHART,ATTR_POINTS_PER_SCREEN,sampsPerChan);

/*********************************************/
// DAQmx Configure Code
SetWaitCursor(1);
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateTask("",&gTaskHandle));
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateAIVoltageChan(gTaskHandle,chan,"",DAQmx_Val_Cfg_Default,min,max,DAQmx_Val_Volts,NULL));