LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Panel Handle retrieve using its constant name or id

Solved!
Go to solution

Is it possible to dynamically retrieve the panelhandle, already loaded from a library call, using the name or the uir ID?

I need to change some attribute of panel control and doing that panel handle is mandatory.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,751 Views)

I am not aware of a function that returns the panel handle when given its ID. But you can put them (panel handles) in a global array as you load them, indexing by their ID and then retrieve back when needed.

Hope that helps 

S. Eren BALCI
IMESTEK
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,742 Views)

I'm brand new to CVI (two weeks, if that) so take this with a grain of salt... What I've been doing is having each panel in it's own .uir file, and then having the corresponding .c file contain a "XXXXInit ()" routine that sets anything needed up, and returns the handle.

Then, in my main.c I can have things like

PanelSomethingInit ();
PanelElseInit ();

They return the panel handle, so I can preserve them in main.c if I need to (as well as error check).

Then, each also has a GetHandle function:

somethingHandle = PanelSomethingGetHandle ();
elseHandle = PanelElseGetHandle ();

I can obtain that easily anywhere I need it, and it keeps me from polluting variables by using globals everywhere. This also keeps all my UIs modular so I can drop them into any other program I need to, easily.

My coworker solved this earlier with a function that looks them up based on a pass-in define:

int ReturnHandleFunction (int panelID)
{
   switch (panelID)
   {
      case PANEL_MAIN:
         return panelMainHandle;
         break;

...etc… He can then get any handle he wants by calling "handle = GetHandleFunction (PANEL_SETTINGS);" or whatever.