LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

write and read with leybold device

i have a device that mesures pressure THERMOVAC TM22 by LEYBOLD the user's manual is here.

the communication to this device is through its  RS232C port and with the 7-bit ASCII code.

to be clear i need some explaination about writing with 7-bit ASCII code:
the user manual in page 18 and 19 gives me some instruction about what should i write to get mesurements ( ,,MES R TM1 <CR>'' ) but i don't know, shoud i write it as it in the write buffer or what and to read information what should i do?

i did write it as it and an error (-1073807339) in the visa read.

the probleme is that i'm new with labview so after reading some topics in NI forums i found this guy who have a similar probleme as mine with the same error but i didn't understand a lot. So can anyone helpe me plz.

( sorry for may ignorance and my spelling)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(3,090 Views)
You aren't sending <CR> are you? That stands for a carriage return and in LabVIEW, you use a \r when the string control is set for \ Codes Display. This is a right click option. Have you verified communication with a terminal emulation program such as hyperterminsl or putty. Verify the port settings and that you have the correct type of serial cable.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(3,076 Views)

ok i'll try hyper terminal tomorrow but first i need to ask how i write this instruction ( ,,MES R TM1 <CR>'' ) in the write buffer with 7 bit ascci code ?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 27
(3,065 Views)
You write
MES R TM1\r
Are you using one of the serial examples? Both include the VISA Configure Serial Port.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 27
(3,053 Views)

i'm using one this VI take a look and tell me if it could do the task:

Sans titre.png

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 27
(3,046 Views)
For a single write/read it should be fine but check the display mode of the string control as I already said.
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 27
(3,036 Views)