From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why labview 8.51 change the variable name programatically and is there a better practice to create a driver for a modbus application using the DSC embeded driver in labview

first,
let me give you a few backgound,
im a developer (labview dsc) i work in the industry and im working in a project we choose labview because it works very ok with other application so we picked up for this one,
the problem is that this application is this big:
150 variables per device
250 devices
the variables include boolean, strings, double and some re-created variables,
most of this must be historized, so
the trouble i have is this one:
first,
when i create a new device, i use a library per device i used to copy the variables and create a new modbus driver for the device, inside the library, im using modbus tcp, so
to do this faster i copy the variables and then in the variable editor i link it to the right library name, so this sound very good,
obviously this sounds very easy, but well theres a think that i cannot escape, i always have to update the .vi with the new tags and it take a long time,
but well thats my work,
ok,
well my problem begins when i return to my application with 4 devices and realize that it changes de variable path to another library i men it gave me the data of other device and not the right one, so thast the first one,
and well in a stand alone app this could not be good,
the second trouble i ve recently,
ive add the 5, 6 devices,
so
the variable went down
giving me bad values,
i test it with kepware opc and it gave me the right values so its a labview problem,
my question is:
is there a reazon for this,
what am i doing wrong?