From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what is .Net and Task ID...?

Hey, I am very new to Labview and have been working with a version previously installed in one of our systems for 3 days now. Previous users wrote a program that communicates well with a stage that moves in X and Y plus does all other fancy stuff. I created a VI at the moment that is able to move stage in X and Y direction. My code runs fine and I can see stage moving in correct coordinates, however, I don't understand exactly what some parts of the block diagram does.

I've attached the basic .vi ,

what I want to know what exactly Control In and Control Out do, (that contains .NET which I don't understand.) Why Control In has to be wired to case in stead of directly to the Execute Command..

Also, there is a task ID that goes to Enable Commands, I understand that if I put 1 and 2 numeric values it basically tells the machine which direction to move first but I notices some users also have in a different form (instead of numeric values) which is in .Net form. Again I am wondering what exactly .Net File do.

Also as you see in the code there is a format into string, I copied that command line (DWELL 1; Linear.....) from a similar code, I think it is G-Code command. I believe that this is how machine knows what speed to obtain and which position. If so where do I get more information to learn about similar G-code commands. Thanks a lot 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,132 Views)

The VI that you posted references not only other VIs but also some .NET assemblies, so unfortunately I cannot open it completely. But from what I can see I can give you the following feedback: