LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wavechart for large dataset

Dear Labview users,

I am new to Labview, I have tried 2-3 days to find a answer to my problem but couldnt find. I am sorry if someone has already posted this quesion before but I couldnt find.

Actually I am using HP picoammeter to read current values for my circuit as a function of time. In the instrument driver vi, the reading of current is in dbl (double integer). I can connect it to wavechart to see the variation of current with time. But in my case, the experiments will run over long time (6-8 hours) and I read somewhere that in wavechart the data will keep overlapping once it reaches the maximum value. This value by default is 1024 I guess. So my questions are:

1. What is the maximum value of points I can enter to record data before it starts overlapping/freezing due to memory issues in wavechart.

2. I saw in this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtjgeoJc4zA) that I can also use waveform graph. I can do this using while loop but in the video its said that its better to intialize an array to avoid memory issues. I dont know how to do this; can someone please post a block diagram for this ?

Thanks

Jordan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,365 Views)

The machine you are using presents the real limitaitons of the WF chart. YOu can right-click and chang eht history to something large for a larger buffer. The memory in the machine and the CPU's ability to update the chart fast enough will be your limiations. Experiment with the chart history lenght first to see if we have to complicate this any further.

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,341 Views)

Hey Jordan,