From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

variable frequency driver control by analog voltage output

I need to drive a variable frequency inverter to drive a compressor and I am too newbie in this kind of works. The inverter can be controlled by analog voltage input and I have NI9188 and NI9263. I have never used analog output modules before and I have some doubts about them.

1. how could I drive the motor continuously?

2. do I have to use device internal clock or software clock?

3. in some examples, a waveform is generated and sent to the write daqmx vi to generate analog output. do I need to do it? (By the way, I prepared a control subVI to send the required input voltage data to the write daqmx.)

4. It is talked about pulse with modulation sth like that. What is it exactly? Do I need to concern about it?

I need to drive the compressor with two temperature feedback so I prepared a huge program by master/slave design pattern. I attached it. Does this program work? I do not want to harm the motor so I could not test it.

Egemen
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(4,832 Views)

Hi newbieeng,

I hope you are doing well today!  I can help answer questions, but I can't debug a program and say whether it will work or not.

A lot of these question depend on your specific application and can't be answered in general.  I would take a look at the specifications document for the NI 9263 and also the specifications for your motor.  I'm including a link below to the specifications document for the NI 9263.  I would highly recommend looking at the current draw of the motor.  The most the NI 9263 can drive is 1 mA per channel.  

OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS
NI 9263

http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/373781e.pdf