LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

updating boolean indicators in timed loops

Hi friends,

I'm new to LabVIEW and I've got to cope with a quite complex project...Smiley Sad
At a certain point in this project I have to update the state of 3 boolean indicators (something like a semaphore).
I' using time loops because at least one of the indicators has to blink with different colours
at a predetermined frequency. The problem is that neither the timed loop can update
the indicators corectly. Actually I see they're not  blinking right (the frequency is not mantained)!

Moreover often some of the iterations of the timed loop return "finished late" although a single iteration
is lasting 700 ms and in it I just write on (up to 3 local variables)!

Can anyone help me!!!

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,227 Views)
We need to find out why this loop is slow and even sometimes finishes late. Writing to three local variables is peanuts and should not take 700ms.

You say it is a complex project. What else is running in parallel to that loop? How many timed loops do you have? Is it possible that other parts of the code also write to local variables of these booleans? Why don't you place the indicator terminals in that loop? Try to find all other local variables of these booleans.

Could you attach a simplified code fragment that still shows the problem?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,209 Views)

You say you're using timed loops, so are you running this VI on a real-time target? If so, are the boolean indicators on the front panel of the RT target? Front panel updates have low priority on the RT and you might not be seeing all the boolean changes. If you're not on a RT target, you might as well be using a regular while loop.

Also, how fast do you want to run the loop to run? 700ms? Try to use counters for when they change state rather than relying on sight.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,203 Views)

Hi