LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

unexplained spikes on waveform graph - values read from visa

I am reading sensor data from a serial port through visa. I chop up the data, convert it from string to decimal and feed it directly into waveform (vi attached). In the waveform graph, however, there are spikes in the values where the values intermittently hit zero or close to it. This is evident in the attached screen shot. 

I had thought that it was down to voltage spikes in my sensor device but a colleague of mine has used the same vi for his data (slightly modified), and has the same problem. I now believe it is something in my vi which is the problem.

I would appreciate any assistance in troubleshooting this vi. I am relatively new to Labview.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,644 Views)

Why are you using "Bytes at Port"?  YOur wait is only 10 msec, so my guess is that you are frequently getting short messages and when you can't parse out a particular value, you are getting the default of zero at Decimal string to number.

Does your device use a termination character such as carriage return or line feed?  Your VISA configure is set up by default to use a termination character of a line feed.  Take advantage of that.  Get rid of bytes at port and wire a number into VISA Read that is larger than the longest message you ever expect to get.

If you can provide what a typical message string lookes like, I get it would be possible to parse out the data using a Scan from String function and not need all the functions you have inside your loop.

Message 2 of 17
(3,622 Views)

Couple of questions;

1. is the data streaming?

2. does the data have a termination character?

3. do you know the protocal for the data?