From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

temperature monitor and control

Hi,
my goal is to monitor and control the temperature of the sample during the etching process. The temperature is determined by the thermocouple. My current system is LabView 7.0. Right now I am thinking of:
1. getting a SCXI-1112 (Thermocouple Inpur module)
2. upgrading LabView to 8.2 and getting a PID Control Toolset
3. writing a code that would help to control the temperature of the sample using PID
4. getting a power source with serial connection to output the signal (and thus adjust the temperature)
If anybody knows an easier way to do monitoring/control, please help me. I am really new to this whole LabView world.
ThanksSmiley Happy
Message 1 of 5
(3,353 Views)
Hello,

From Hardware point of view, it looks like you are missing an output signal from you list. How are you planning to do that? PWM or analog output? You have to find a way to control your system.

After that, you can look at the lastest examples DAQmx >> Control, where they show how to create a control system with DAQ. They even cover the PWM example (if that is the case).

After that, you could use the PID Toolkit and look at the examples to understand how to use the PID Toolkit for your application. In special, the latest PID 8.2 cover most of the different configurations (fixed gains, autoscheduling, alarming, autotune from a controlled PI).