From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

speeding the Keithley 6485 readings with LabView

Hi All,

I'm new with LabView and with current measurements. I'm using a Keithley 6485 Pico-Amp to recored the current changes in microchannels. I downloaded the instrument drivers from the NI website and I tried to control the Pico-Amp current readings with LabView 7.1 but the rate of readings from the Pico Amp was slow ( a reading every 0.5 s). I tried to change a lot of parameters and I found the main problem causing such slow measurements is the read VI for the Pico-Amp was very slow in the while loop.

is there any way to recored fast continuous measurements from the Pico-Amp using the read VI in a while loop with LabView 7.1?.  or if there is another to do fast recordings form the Pico-Amp with LabView? 

I appreciate your help and suggestions.

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(7,887 Views)
The Read.vi function has a timeout associated with it that you can shorten.  However, your data may not transfer completely.  My guess is the instrument has a fair amount of delay that is causing slow loop rates.  Are you able to control it by other means with faster response time?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(7,854 Views)
You might also want to look at using the multi-point read functions. I could not find a driver on NI's site, only a link to Keithley's IVI driver. I'm assuming this is the one you are using. There are a couple of shipping examples. There is a Binary Read that uses a Fetch Multi-Point and one called Buffer Read that uses a Read Multi-Point. A fetch operation is usually much faster than a read.
Message 3 of 20
(7,847 Views)