LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

spartan 3e poor performance oscilloscope

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello , i am a student and i work on my final year project wich consist in an oscilloscope implemented on spartan-3e board. I have to program the fpga in Labview. Untill now i initialized the PGA on th board, the ADC on the board, and now i have tomake the host program.My problem is the fallowing one: how should i proceed with the samples to build the waveform on the control panel of the host .vi?Because the speed of the fpga's .vi is much faster than the host's one...how should i proceed, please help.

Best regards, 10x in advance .

Victor

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,713 Views)
i mean, what can i do, not to lose any sample...do i have to use a FIFO?how can i send more samples one time to build the waveform and to refresh at least 25 times/secound?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,698 Views)

Hi Victor,

Using a DMA FIFO is going to be your best solution.  With the FIFO your host will be able to continuously pull the samples from the FIFO without losing any. Then on your host you can build the waveform and append it (Waveform » Analog Waveform » Append Waveforms.vi) to your running waveform.

Best Regards,

Bryan H.
Message 3 of 10
(3,670 Views)

thanks but today i figured out that spartan 3e does not support DMA :(...so i can use regular fifo but in continous sampling i don't know how will i  do it!

anyway, thanks for the attention...

best regards , 

Victor Vlad

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,660 Views)

let's assume that i don't make the data aquisition real time, how can i sincronise the data transfer betwen the fpga board and host VI knowing that the execution time of the fpga vi is 9 us and the host's seems to be 350-400ms...

Thank's in advance, Victor

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(3,573 Views)

Hi Victor,