From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

running instruments in parallel with a slight twist

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, first post here. I am very new to labview (less than 2 weeks) and I am currently learning C++, so I don't have a ton of experience programming. I am working with a research group in a summer internship and currently I am working on writing some code for a ferromagnetic ressonance experiment. Right now my code is at a point where everything works very well except for my power supply. I am using official drivers, the problem is that these drivers run great as a standalone since they can run continuously. When I use the driver in my code it starts running and, since it never technically ends until I power it down, it keeps the rest of my code from executing, which means I don't get any data collection. 
How can I run the power supply live while executing the rest of my code for measurements? I need the events to be synchronized in this order:
set frequency

set current(field strength)

read voltage

read x and y values

read teslameter

set new current

read voltage

read x and y values

read teslameter

etc.

Thank you in advance.

-Kike (keekay)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,329 Views)

Kike,

It sounds as though you will need to modify the code for the power supply to work well as a subVI. The power supply driver code apparently has a high level user interface, including a stop button.  Code like that is never intended to run as a subVI.