LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

run a subvi using invoke node

Hello

I am quite new at LabView and I have a question regarding the call of a subvi.

I have a subvi in my main vi that is called during the execution of the main vi. additiionally I would like to be able to call this subvi using a button.

I have already found out that i have to call a copy of this subvi and that my subvi has to be reentrant.

it kind of works, but when  I push my button, the front panel of the subvi opens, but it is not running. If i push the run button of the sub vi it starts running in a new front panel and it does not function well - e.g. saving the controls to a config file is not done, when pushing the dedicated button.

What could be the reason that another front panel is opened and why is the subvi not working properly? 

Thank you very much for your help.

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,946 Views)

Hi Lotusblüte,

I have already found out that i have to call a copy of this subvi and that my subvi has to be reentrant.

Please explain why you need to run this subVI reentrant, in two parallel instances!

Please explain how you call the VI (which options used). And please explain why you call it using an InvokeNode instead of a simple subVI call!

I would like to be able to call this subvi using a button.

Use an event structure. Or put a case structure around your subVI…

What could be the reason that another front panel is opened and why is the subvi not working properly?

You do something wrong.

Please attach your VIs to allow us to help you…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,906 Views)

If you use the vi server method of open vi ref and/or open front panel, you also need to use the Invoke node Run VI.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9