From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

respiration rate

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi! Im a biomedical engineering student and i need to detect the respiration rate on labview based on three axis accelerometer, I a m using the accelerometer z-axis for the breathing movements of the chest and thorax, but i can't see the respiration signal. Also I am using an analog butterworth filter with cutoff frequency of 1 hz (cause the respiration frequencies are between 0.1 and 0.5 hz) and a digital filter on labview . So this is my question, how can i sample low frequencies or the filtered signal? I attach the vi file i am using. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,829 Views)

Can you post a sample of your data?  Without the analog filter would be preferable.

Respiration will show up as a displacement of the chest.  To get that from an accelerometer, I think you would have to integrate the signal twice

Randall Pursley
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,794 Views)

There is no point in posting a picture of Express VIs.  We can't open them to see how they're configured.

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,773 Views)

Oh sorry, i see other questions in forums and see pictures of the block diagram, i supposed it was the best.Here is my VI, and i sampled twice, continous samples with a sampling of 1k at 10k of rate, and i can see the displacement, but if i sample at N samples with the same rate i cant see my signal filtered (only digital filter of lowpass is used)  I used Labview version 12.0 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,751 Views)