LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

referenced vi won't execute

I am currently working on a program that will call vi's from a sub directory, all works well till I call a vi that has several sub vi's contained within it, also hardware devices it may be looking for.

I am fairly new at using labview. I am using LV 8.2
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,564 Views)

Hello Shadow,

your question lacks details. maybe you could post your software for us to look at?

do you have some kind of error handling in those subvis, that allow to return to main vi without an error message appearing?

in general, be aware that there is a tool called "probe" that you can put on any wire, including in nested subvis. you can put several of those at places which look suspicious (hardware calls are very prone to such). a small window will appear floating on the front panel, which will allow you to monitor the information that is passed trough the probe. a good first check would be to put some on the error wires.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
... And here's where I keep assorted lengths of wires...
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,559 Views)

Sorry about lacking detail. I am calling different vi's into a subpanel of the main vi. It works well until I call a vi with dependencies like hardware. It will open the front panel is all, no errors that I can see at all. I figure it is because of not having it's internal subvi's also installed. Do I need to somehow reference or link all the internal vi's to the subvi that I am calling?

Sorry if this isn't very clear, I don't get alot of time to play around with this software much.

Message Edited by shadow72 on 09-14-2007 01:28 PM

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,555 Views)
Here is the base program I am Playing with, you should be able to mod it up to try it out.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,548 Views)
shadow,