LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

recording data at particular iterations and writing to text file

Hi all,

this is my first time posting on the NI boards. I'm running into a couple problems I can't seem to figure out how to fix.

I'm collecting data using a LabJack U3-HV daq. I've taken one of the out-of-the-box streaming functions that comes with the LabJack and modified it for my purposes. I am attempting to simply save the recorded data to a text file in columns, one for each of my 4 analog strain gauge inputs, and one for time. For some reason when the 'write to measurement file.vi' executes it is puts everything in rows, and the data is unintelligible.

The 2nd issue I am facing, which is not currently visible in my vi, is that I am running my test for 60,000 cycles, which generates a ton of data. I'm measuring creep/fatigue with my strain gages so I don't need data for every cycle, probably for the first 1000, then the 2k, 4k, 6k, 8k, 10k, 20k, etc. More of an exponential curve. I tried using some max/min functions and then matching the 'write to measurement file.vi' with a case structure that only permitted it to write for particular iterations, but can't seem to get it to work.

Thanks in advance for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,599 Views)

I have never used the write to measurement file.vi, but I typically don't used caned vis. You can write your own subvi and use the write to file or write to spreadsheet functions. At least then you can troubleshoot how to write the data just the way you want.

You might also use a producer and consumer loop structure. That enables you to produce the data (read) at one rate and the consume (write to file) and a differenet or varying rate.

I made this up real quick. You would need to add the appropiate timing to the producer loop but I added the timing array to only write data to the queue at the correct number of iterations.

Capture.JPG

Doug Ferguson