LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"task location"

Hi NI community

I am a labview novice, but have a computer that was running a big set of VIs whose HD failed and with a new computer and a backup I have to get it running again.

My issue is that despite back ups of the VIs, the NIDAQ-Mx 'tasks' (details of each input from my hardware) are no longer there or configured...  All my programming is just drawing from nonexistant tasks....

Again, as a novice I have looked around, there are no project files with task info, there are no .nce, .ini or .txt task files either I think....

.... So my question is where are 'tasks' stored and in what sort of file format? There must exist somewhere in a non-project based VI.....

Perhaps that is a dumb question and I'll have to reconfigure everything....

Thanks,

Tom

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(5,909 Views)
The task definitions are stored internally in MAX. Unless someone thought to export and backup the task definitions, they are gone.

Is the old HD completely toast?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(5,888 Views)

.... So my question is where are 'tasks' stored and in what sort of file format? There must exist somewhere in a non-project based VI..... 

Tasks are defined in MAX, and in the LabVIEW Project.  MAX Tasks can be "exported" in a variety of formats (not all of which I've been able to "re-use", but it may be something I'm doing wrong).  MAX also saves files in Windows' Program Data folder, but I'm uncertain how to "extract" their data (or even which files to investigate).