LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

proper use of stacked sequence structure

Hello

I have been reading this forum up and down, trying to figure out what the proper use of a stacked sequence struckture is.

The reason i ask was that almost evryone in this forum thinks it is miss used / and or hides code. And that there is berrer ways of doing it.

I ask this question, wondering what is the PROPER use of SSS?

attached is the code so you can see what i am doing. As you will see, the code in the SSS are all the same for each frame, only channel number and numeric indicator is different, making upscaling more efficiant.

Faster readings is not an issue since i will be slowing it down later on, so we get a visual value evry 5-10 seconds or so.

keep in mind i am a novice at LabView, and all input is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,565 Views)

@TorbH wrote:
[...]

keep in mind i am a novice at LabView, and all input is much appreciated.

Let me put it in a clear, short way: There is NO proper usage for stacked sequence structures!

Longer explanation:

The stacked sequence structure has some severe disadvantages with the three most prominent:

a) Passing data from "case" to "case" requires sequence locals. This are no-gos for code design.

b) You can see only a fraction of code at one sight on the code. While this is true for other structures (case, event), the SSS does not provide the flexibility and power of the other structures.

c) Speaking of flexibility: The SSS has a strict order of execution. If you want to swap "cases", you often have VERY much to do in the code to make it work. Adding new "cases" is also very often close to nightmare.

That being said, the STATE MACHINE architecture is the correct answer to code design for code which *could* use the sss. It provides the flexibility the sss lacks and still ensures proper execution of the application.

hope this helps,

Norbert

Norbert