LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

programmically push a button with latch mechanism

I'm an experienced programmer who is new to Labview. I'm trying to control some Labview programs written by someone using Java/C++. One of the requirement is to change the existing labview program as little as possible and the same technique show works with a number of different labview programs. The idea is to simulate user interaction, pushing buttons and chaning edit boxes etc, I I'm planning to use TCP/IP to communicate between the labview program and Java, the Java program send the name of the control and the action I want to perform to the labview program via TCP/IP. I'm planning to implement the command decoder in a sub-vi and change the value property in the property node.

I've already figured out how to get the reference of the control using it's name and I've already make some protype code that can push some buttons, changing and reading the edit box and so on. However, I run into problems when the control has  latch mechansim. Apparently, the value(signaling) property is not compatible with boolean with latch mechanism. Is there any way round this? Is there any other way to fire an event?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,261 Views)
What you will need to do is set the action of the control to switch rather than latch.  Of course, that doesn't cause it to automatically pop back up once it is read by labview.

So then you will need to set a case structure so that if the switch is true, it will do whatever you want it to do, and also programmatically set the value of the switch back to false.

I am sure there is a good reason as to why latch type switches can't be set programmatically, but I'm not sure why.  Can someone who knows explain it so I can have a better idea why?

Message Edited by Ravens Fan on 11-17-2006 12:58 AM

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,260 Views)