LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

photovoltaic current

Hi all, i need to design a software tool that can be used model the Photovoltaic cells. The software should be able to measure the amount of power generated by a PV device which considers:
The type and area of the material
The intensity of the incident light

This is purely software simulation. No hardware is being used.

I = IL - ID = IL - IO (e^(qV/kT)-1)

For now i just need to know how to draw the block diagram that can plot current I vs voltage

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 86
(3,851 Views)

Sorry ignore the 1st question....pls consider this one. I am new to labview. i need to design a software tool that can be used model the Photovoltaic cells.

This is purely software simulation. No hardware is being used.

I = IL - ID = IL - Is (e^(qV/kT)-1)

For now i just need to know how to draw the block diagram that can plot current I vs voltage.

I have drawn the vi for diode current [ Is (e^(qV/kT)-1) ]....see attachements. Now i need to draw the vi for total current [ IL - Is (e^(qV/kT)-1) ] which is equal to the current IL generated by the photoelectric effect minus the diode current ID.

PLS HELP!!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 86
(3,835 Views)

You want I graphed instead of ID correct?

If ID = Is(e^(qV/kT)-1) the you need to subtract ID from IL to get I. You can do that by adding a subtract block right before the ID value leaves the while loop. 

I've attached an example with IL set as a control you can enter on the front panel. Is that what you're looking for? You can replace the control with how ever you want IL to be generated.  

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
CLD Certified
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 86
(3,808 Views)

Hi Zach-H, thank u so much. I am really grateful to u. Theres a problem, i use labview 2010, & u hv done this in labview 2011. Can u pls convert it for me to labview 10. Thanks a lot.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 86
(3,802 Views)

Sure Can. Sorry about that.