LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

peak detectors width for ecg

Hello guys, 

I'm new to labview (started working with it a week ago) and I managed to do a program which detects the peaks in a sinus wave, (it works very well, thanks to the advice I got here) in order to calculate the frequency (I'm doing a project for my university).

Now, I have to adapt this technique for ecg signal. I'm using the VirtualBench of NI, so the minimum sample rate I get is 15.26k, I use a sample rate of 16k and I'm taking the measurements in a window of 2s. So I tried to put a width of 8k, but it's not working very well... Sometimes the frequency goes to 3.. Any suggestion of how to adjust the width?

Any help is VERY appreciated!  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(3,128 Views)

Have you used a real oscilloscope?  [I'm old enough to think that a "real" oscilloscope has a CRT where a moving electron beam "paints" the CRT with a "sweeping" beam whose Y position varies as the input "signal" voltage].  Almost all oscilloscopes are Digital, meaning there's (somewhere) a fast A/D converter and "software" that plays out the (vastly-over-sampled) signal at the rate you specify.  So the "minimum sampling rate" of the Virtual Bench is more-or-less meaningless -- you are over-sampling, so you need to figure out how to see the signal on a time scale that makes sense to you.  A simple thing to do would be a "poor-man's Low Pass Filter" -- sample at, say, 20kHz, take 200 points and average them (this takes 200/20k = 10 msec) and display it at an "effective" sampling rate of 100 Hz, probably reasonable for an EKG signal.

Doesn't the Virtual Bench "do this for you"?  [I've seen it at shows, but never played with one -- I thought it would "act like" an oscilloscope emulator].

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(3,098 Views)