LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pause timed loop

I have a VI that generates some analuoge outputs. Since this is time sensetive I have put it in a timed loop with a fixed period time. I have no problems geting it to work so far.

The problem is that I would like to set the execution of the timed loop on pause with a boolean operator.

The timed loop is a part of a state machine that runs paralel with som other code.

I'm using LabView 7.1 and since I'm fairly new to this, coding exampels would be of great help.

/Rasmus

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,803 Views)

Hi Rolesen,

you can use a case structure inside your timed loop to pause the execution of your code. You can use a queue to transfer the boolean value to it.

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,802 Views)

Hi Mike

The thing is that I'm using the iteration number in the loop. I could get around that, but the loop is runing quite fast and there fore using a lot of CPU power. Thats the reason that I would like to pause or halt the loop.

I have been looking at som notifire and master / slave loops, but it haven't lead me to a solution.

Rasmus

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,797 Views)

Hi Rasmus,

you can place a queue inside your loop and connect a timeout of "-1" to it. This is not the typical use of a timed loop, but it pause your loop.

Mike

Message Edited by MikeS81 on 07-01-2009 08:11 AM
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,794 Views)

Hi mike

But how wil I get it going again? If I do that, won't the code then wait til the next iteration to read the "go" value? and since that iteration is haltet, lead to the code never starting again?

Rasmus

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(3,790 Views)

Hi Rasmus,