cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

passing multiple graphs to sub vi

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm rather new to labview and could use some advice.  My current project utilizes a for loop to create a graph for the I-V measurements of each sample solar cell (each plot is on a seperate graph).  Multiplexing is done externally via labview control.  I have a subvi to show a sample report to the user before they are prompted to save the report.

What would be the best way to pass the data for 6 (or more) graphs to a subvi, and then create the graphs again in the subvi?  I think an option would be to utilize a shift register to concate the arrays from each run.  Unfortunately, the array size is determined by the user at run-time (number of test points on the graph) and I'm not sure if I can seperate the data properly in the subvi.

Another question would be can I create an array of the seperate graphs (graph 1 in array element 1, etc.) utilizing the data cluster of each graph as an array element?  I ask this because it seems that data seperation within the subvi would be easier with this method.

Thanks in advance for the help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,317 Views)

OP asked "can I create an array of the seperate graphs (graph 1 in array element 1, etc.) utilizing the data cluster of each graph as an array element?  I ask this because it seems that data seperation within the subvi would be easier with this method.

Yes you can! and this is what I would recommend doing for the exact reasons you stated!

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(3,310 Views)

A few questions first:

• Is there a reason you're using 6 different graphs as opposed to just one graph with 6 plots on it?
  • If the subVI is supposed to just show a sample report, can it simply generate random data, or perhaps just use one of the signal processing functions to generate, say, a simple sine wave?