LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

out of control thermocouples

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey, I've got a weird problem and I'm hoping someone can help. I've been using a program for about 6 months now that basically maintains a cold temperature at one side of a heat sink, and maintains a hot temperature at the other side.  Then I have 25 thermocouples hooked up in between to measure temperatures so I can do analysis on the material in the middle.  My problem is that all of a sudden the thermocouple readings have been out of control and unpredictable.  I was adding automation to the program so it could run multiple tests at once and in the process this problem developed.  The strange part is that the problem is also happening in the old version of the program now too, and that has been working perfectly for the last 6 months.  I have 25 thermocouples hooked up and the temperatures will all look about right, but then 3 to 5 of them will be completely wrong randomly.  What's interesting about this problem is that when I change the thermocouple that the heaters use to maintain the set point temperature, the values that were wrong become right again and some of the other thermocouples start giving invalid data.  The setup uses one NI 9213 and 3 NI 9211 inputs for the thermocouples.  It also uses a NI 9401 to control the heaters through a pulse width modulation electric box we have.  Anyone ever experience something like this or have any ideas?  Thanks for any help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,231 Views)

I also just got this error message when I stopped the program which hasn't ever happened before and might have something to do with it:

Error -200279 occurred at DAQmx Read (Analog 1D DBL NChan 1Samp).vi:1

Possible reason(s):
Attempted to read samples that are no longer available. The requested sample was previously available, but has since been overwritten.