From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie question: interfacing and collecting data from an air data computer using labview

Hey NI community!

Recently, I discovered that my latest project will require me to interface and collect data from an air data computer (ADC). I am still rather new to data acquisition in general and have been learning every so far on the fly. So far, the most I have been able to learn is that I will be interfacing with the ADC using a rs232. What I am really lost on is, does anyone know how to configure LabVIEW to work with an ADC? Would I need to find a LabVIEW driver for the device to be able to create a VI to collect data from it? Sorry if the info I provided was not sufficient, I only know its an ADC so far, so I'm looking for more general information. Any advice on that or what the right questions I should be asking is greatly appreciated! 

Cheers,

Stephen Abraham

Ps. sorry if the post is a bit confusing. If more clarification is needed, please ask

Cheers,
Stephen Abraham
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,669 Views)

Do you have any links to what an "air data" computer is?

Have you read the manual, particular the sections that discuss how to communicate with it using RS-232?

LabVIEW has some examples in the Example Finder for how to do serial communication.  They aren't great, but it isn't complicated.  The key things are making sure you have the right cable and communications parameters.  And knowing how to format commands to send and how to interpret the response.