cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

merging 2 while loops for 2 devices and PID control

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Dear LabVIEW Experts.

As a Beginner i am working on a Project with real Hardware now, where i have a Flowmeter measuring Flow and a Pressure controlled valve that can regulate the flow. when i give the device a value of 0 it keeps the flow at the same point fluctuating 0.1 l/min around that point.

if i give a value between 0-250 it opens the valve further and if i set it back to 0 it keeps it at that point same goes for 0- minus 250 where it takes of pressure and closes the valve a bit reducing the flow.

So far so good i have that Part in a While loop and now i want to PID controll it therefore i wanted to use the LabVIEW example Advanced autotuning PID control loop. where the Flow is my Process Vaiable(PV) and the pressure is the manipulated variable(MV).

And here is my Problem the PID VI is in a seperate while loop and its a simulation loop with a simulated plant.

Tomlab_0-1643018851229.png

i wanna replace the "fake plant" with my plant that gets the MV and measures the PV and gives it back to the loop.

Id love to hear your ideas guys thanks in advance and sorry for my english im non native.^^

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(872 Views)

PS: If you need any further context or have questions feel free to ask 😃

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(869 Views)

Hi Tom,

@Tomlab wrote:

i wanna replace the "fake plant" with my plant that gets the MV and measures the PV and gives it back to the loop.

No, you don't want to replace that "Plant.vi" in a 2nd loop.

You want to place the PID function inside your DAQ loop!

1. Place the PID inside the DAQ loop.
  2. Use the sample from DAQmxRead as input (process value, pv).
  3. Have the PID calculate a new output value.
  4. Output that value using the current DAQmxWrite function (or whatever you use to output the setpoint to your Pressure-regulating valve).

That's it…