LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

measuring analog voltage output over 6 hours

Hi,

I am currently trying to ascertain if i have voltage drift in readings from a force balance when it is under an applied load.
The output signal from the balance is +/- 5V and i am using a PCI-6035 DAQ card on my PC. I have tried setting up a program to record and plot the output voltage on 3 channels (axial F, normal F and moment) over a period of 6 hours using DAQmx. I can get the program to scan and plot at a high frequency over a period of up to say 5 seconds. But any longer time than that and i get an error message about a "read timeout". Does anyone know of any specific examples in Labview 7 which i can use to perform this task? I am new to Labview so am kind of feeling my way through this at the moment and would appreciate any advice.

Simon
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,072 Views)
Simon,

I do not know of any specific examples which will do what you want, but that is the power of LV: You can easily make your own.

Several issues become factors when doing long term data acquisition: Total amount of data collected, buffer overflows, etc. Since you are reading a balance, it is likely that you do not need a high sampling rate. If you sample 3 channels at 100 Hz and format the data as single precision floats, you will have about 26 MB of data after 6 hours. If you sample at 100 Hz for one second every minute, average the 100 samples and save just the averages, you have 1440 bytes for 6 hours. For drift tests the latter approach should be quite adequate.