From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview enter any three of the four items

front.JPG

block diagram.JPG

im a undergrad.  i need help with this...i posted the block diagram and the front panel for reference...using labview I made a program where you could enter 5 specific things.  it does the calculation using that information to give the answer (X,Y).  how do i make it so i can enter any of the information and it solves for whatever variable.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,162 Views)

Well you probably need 3 things:

• A way to tell which of the items are filled out or not
  • Some logic to determine which one did not get filled out
  • Different code execution depending on the outcome of the logic

First, it can be tricky figuring out which one was filled out because the default entry of "zero" is a legal value.  You might want to change them to strings (which can then be blank) and then convert those values to floating points.  The string controls will allow you to input illegal values though (letters, punctuation, etc.) so you have to be sure you're OK with that.  If you go that route you can just check for empty strings to see which one is not filled out.  There's an empty string checker on the Comparison palette and in the String palette there are string to number conversion functions.