LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview 8 as modbus master help needed

Hello ! CAn some body help me with modbus. I have Labview 8 and I have downloaded NI Modbus.lib (MGIModbus).
I am trying to connect to a messung plc which supports modbus as slave. I am able to connect using a third party
demo software called modlink.
But when I want to use the NI Modbus MB Master Serial Example.vi I am not able to get any output
I am a bit new to Labview. I am developing a Vision application. I am ok with that. Only the commn. part troubles.
My requirement is quite simple.
The Messung has the following memory areas to be accessed
%MW2, %MW4, %MW6, %MW8
The corresponging Modbus holding registers are
40001, 40002, 40003, 40004

I am able to access the same with the modlink. I have to read and write into %MW4, %MW6 . The plc shall leave a value of 0 (decimal) in the variable.
Labview should read that and then write 1 into the same variable. Thats all.

But under labview, I am not able to get much out. Can someone pls modify the mb server example for me with 1 read and 1 write sample.
I can get a fair idea of the things if some one is grateful enough to help, pls add comments if you the time.
Thanks a lot in advance
NOTE: Serial settings : Mode RTU, Slave Address 1 , 9600, Odd, 8 Bit, 1 Stop

Pls help me.
Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,295 Views)
Hello,
Could I get some more information from you? When you say you are not getting much from the LabVIEW example, what exactly do you mean? Also what variable are you referring to when you say "The plc shall leave a value of 0 (decimal) in the variable."? The example you are looking at already performs a write and a read, and you should be able to use that with some modification. Let me know the answers to the questions above, and I'll try to help out some more. Thanks!

Regards,

Ebele O.
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,277 Views)
Hi !