LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

increase samples rate of a digital input

Hello,

I am quite new to Labview and my question is quite simple :

I would like to increase the sampling rate of my optical encoder (DAQ Assistant3). I use a while loop with a time delay of 0.001, but according to my lvm file it seems I can only have one measurement each 0.05 sec at the maximum sample rate.

The acquisition mode is '1 sample on demand', I wanted to try the other ones but when I try for example 'Continuous samples', the lvm file does not write anymore.

Please see attached my program.

Thank you for your help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,734 Views)

An image (if it's not a snippet) tells nothing about the hidden code inside a DAQ Assistant and you really need to provide the actual hardware you are using. Attach the actual VI or read the help on how to create a snippet.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,719 Views)

I am sorry about that.

I use the chassis NI cDAQ 9172.

DAQ Assistant 1 for the RPM: NI 9411

DAQ Assistant 2 for the pressure transducer voltage: NI 9205

DAQ Assistant 3 for the angular position: NI 9401

So I would like to increase the sample rate of the angular position.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,714 Views)

First to directly answer you question, you don't control the acquistion speed by controling the while loop.  DAQ will count your encoder pulses, but what you have coded is limiting the data transfer and writing of that data.  Removet the time delay from your loop to catch all your pulses. 

That being said, the complete answer is that the VI you have attached is very unlikely to achieve what you want to in an easy manner.  What is the end result you are looking for?  Do you want to compare RPM, pressure, and angle against each other.  If so it would be much easier to do that in one data file.