cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

incorrect TX CAN data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Sir/Madam,

I am a rookie in Labview and hope that somebody can help to resolve my problems. I would like to create a labview program to send periodic CAN message with Arbitration ID 18FF6500 in every 100ms and I started my programming by modifying the sample codes from the help files. Enclosed is my VI and it does not send out the data as per the data input. 1) Can we use (ncConfigCanObj.vi) and (ncConfigCaNNet.vi) in the same VI? 2) From the NI sample code, Why the Arbitration ID need to AND with 1FFFFFFF before it enter the format to string? 3) What is wrong in my vi?

Hope to hear from you.

Regards,

Rookie.Alfred

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,006 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author alfred.tan

The reason for the AND with 1FFFFFFF is that Arbitration IDs are either 11 (standard) or 29 (extended) bits.  In this case you're using a 29-bit identifier.  1FFFFFFF is a value with 1s in the low 29 bits, so the AND masks off any higher-order bits that would make the arbitration ID invalid.

Do you get any error messages that would help indicate why your VI isn't working?  If an error occurs, it should show up in a dialog box when you push the stop button.  Are you sure you have the name of your CAN device correct?  You can find, and set, the name in Measurement and Automation Explorer.  Which NI-CAN device are you using?