LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

implementing logarithmic sampling

Hello,
I have what is probably an easy question. I am quite new with labview and will appreciate someones help.
I am logging some data from a sensor using a cfieldpoint. Currently I log the data every 'x' milliseconds using a control which allows me to choose what 'x' is. I then write the time data and corresponding sensor data to a file.
However, I would like to implement a logarithmic sampling of the sensor data, so that the sampling is done on a logarithmic scale. How can I do this in labview?
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,991 Views)
Hi RVR

I do not know if I understood you well but here is the example how to make the linear or logarithmic scale.

regards
Pawel
Message 2 of 14
(4,989 Views)
I am also not totally sure what you want to do with the data. If you want to graph it on a Logarithmic scale, I just created a very simply VI which outputs random data to a Chart that scales the y-axis logarithmically (is that a word???) 🙂
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(4,989 Views)
Hello,

i read your post and would like to knwo if you got an answer to your question. I have the same problem and am new to using labview. Could you please let me know how to sample data logarithmically?

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(4,960 Views)
I'm not aware of any NI hardware that will vary its sampling rate logarithmically. A previous answer suggested how you might simply display data on a log scale and that may be sufficient. The other alternative is to use the hw to take equally-spaced samples and then extract elements at log-spaced indices.

If you're dealing with something like a decay curve, you probably can just extract indices that are approximately log-spaced. A further refinement may be to interpolate values where integer-valued indices aren't sufficient.

-Kevin P.