LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to put nonlinear fitting into a loop

Hey,All

I am a rookie to labview. I try to fit experimental data with nonlinear fitting (Lev-Mar) and attain the fitting parameter. But the fitting curve looks bad. I tried so hard to get better fitting, but the progress is so little. I wonder whether there is some way to put the fitting in a loop to get a better fitting.

Basically, the aim is to calculate the Young's modulus from the indentation data. The parameters in the model vi are k (Spring constant , 0.02) , poisson ratio(0.5), d0 (-77.86), and cone angel (0.314). The initial condition for E and z0 could be (115270, 1017). The attached is one set of data and the model vi. If someone has such experience, could you possibly help me out? Your help is really appreciated.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,030 Views)
I am currently on my smartphone, so I cannot look at your code.

If you graph the model with the initial guesses, does it look anything like your data?

Dies the covariance matrix tell you anything? Maybe the parameters are correlated.

Fitting stops when no further improvements are possible. Just refitting does typically not discover anything new.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,019 Views)

I don't quite see how your model can generate anything similar to your data. Can you point me to a website that describes the model?

(Also, your model is very inefficient. The globals belong before the loop because the values hopefully don't change during the execution of the FOR loop.) 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,997 Views)

Thanks for the quick reply and suggestion!

The covariance seems fine. the matrix is (102189 , 23.3397

23.3397   0.0127) .

Do you think the matrix looks fine? Is there some way to get better fitting? 

Thanks a lot!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,996 Views)

Let us leave LabVIEW out of the discussion for a moment and just talk about your data and your model.