LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to get a XY graph like a paper recorder, anyone can help?

Hi, i am a freshman in labview. but now i have trouble in achieving a DAQ project, which i want to get one XY plot for two signals, one for movement(distance), another for force, and then find the inflection, get the x1-x2, y1-y2,... now i have PCI6221, SCB-68A, and installed properly. i checked the examples on my books for months, but i cannot get the right way. anyone can give me some hints or example for block program, thanks a lot,...... the attached img is a manual paper recorder result, paper recorder result, horizontal for movement, vertical for force,paper recorder result, horizontal for movement, vertical for force,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,961 Views)

Usually when you have a (or two) signals and you talk about their "inflection", you usually mean a plot of Signal vs Time, where Time is usually the (uniform) sampling rate of the signal.  You are discussing an X-Y Plot that seems to be (but I'm not certain) the two signals plotted against each other.

That can be tricky.  Have you heard the term "Lissajous Figure"?  [I wonder if this has gone out of vogue with the disappearance of analog oscilloscopes ...].  Consider X as a sine wave at some frequency "f", and Y as the cosine wave at the same amplitude and frequency.  Plotting X vs Y gives you a circle that just goes round and round (well, it actually gives you an N-gon if you sample the Cycle N times/cycle, which approximates a circle as N gets larger, but that's a different issue).

So are you plotting X vs Y, or are you talking about two plots of X vs t and Y vs t?  If the former, consider the circle and what you would want to do with it ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,938 Views)

@Mybr wrote: