LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to generate continuous voltage generation during 1.4 ms

Hi everyone,

I am studying on a combustion chamber test setup. I need to send a continuous voltage to a spark plug for 1.4 ms after running the program. I need some doubts about the preparation of the program for this purpose.

1) Can I adjust delay, duration, wait, etc. as a floating number mili seconds like 1.2 ms via software timing by use of wait or wait to next functions?

2) I have never worked with hardware timing, so I do not know much about it. Should I use hardware timing? Can I adjust timing by giving as a floating number? (by the way I will use NI USB X 6353)

I have checked all example analog output vis of labview 2012, however, I could not adapt them to my task.

I am open all kind of suggestions about this. Thanks in advance.

Egemen
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,383 Views)

Egemen,

What type of spark coil are you using?  You mentioned analog output, but most of my experience with controlling spark requires digital TTL outputs ("smart" coil) or high voltage spark driver outputs.  Therefore, we typically drive spark with either the NI 9754 ESTTL module or the older Drivven Spark module.  Also, I assume this is not an engine-synchronous application?

Most of the NI Powertrain Controls VIs are centered around NI LabVIEW Real-Time and FPGA due to the need for a high level of determinism and speed, but you may be able to adapt some of the VIs for your purpose.  I would recommend downloading the NI-PCG device drivers from this link.  Maybe the examples will give you some insight.  Best,

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,364 Views)