LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to detect all COM & USB ports present in a system using labview?

I am developing a GUI using labview and want to give an option to user on menu bar for selecting desired COM or USB port for communication.Actually on clicking, it should display a list of all com ports and usb ports available on PC for communication.Since, I am new to labview,I dont know how to actually accomplish it.All suggestions are most welcome.Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(8,848 Views)
You can simply use the VISA Find Resources function to list all com ports. If you have USB-RS232 converters, they simply show as a com port. You must have NI-VISA installed for this to work
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(8,830 Views)

Hi Dennis,thank you for the response.I would highly appreciate if you can put up some example vi of this sort.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(8,814 Views)

Hi mnx,

in general, if you just want a list box to access available serial ports of you computer to access VISA functions, you can just use the VISA resource name Control available in the frontpanel.

Visa Resource Control.JPG

You can also right click the terminal of your VISA VIs and select Create Control in the context menu:

For example for VISA functions you have to right click the VISA resource name terminal:

VISA Open.JPG

Best Regards,

Lam

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(8,797 Views)

Thank you Lam for your reply.I am now making use of VISA find resource and VISA configure serial port functions for getting a dropdown menu for all serial ports present in the system.Can I also do something similar for USB ports?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(8,744 Views)