LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do I trigger an sinusoidal analog input using labview 6i,student edition, and the PCI-1200 board to get the duration of the waveform

I am currently an engineering student and am a novice at using labview programming. I need to write a labview 6.0 virtual instrument, to be used in fuse link testing, which should meet the following requirements:

Inputs:

Current signal from a current transformer - 60 Hz signal, range of +5 V to -5 V

Calculation:

Calculate RMS current ( based on peak currents each cycle for long times to melt, or integrating the waveform within a few cycles for fast melt times) and Amp squared seconds to metl (for fast melt times).

Screen Output:

Time to melt, calculated RMS current, and calculated Amp squared seconds to melt. Visual graphic representation of the waveform ( long time to melt display peak voltage for each half cycle, fast times show breakdown of waveform for up to 20 cycles with 50 points per cycle)

Excel Sheet output:

Sample tests may be run on batches of fuse links at different current levels. After each test is run the screen data is to be able to be transferred to a spreadsheet for analysis. After the batch data is completed, the spreadsheet calculations need to be established to statistically analyze the data ( sample mean, variance, max and minimum values) The spreadsheet then needs to plot the batch data Time Current Characteristic of the fuse link.

I am currently using a PCI-1200 legacy DAQ board, connected to a waveform generator, which provides a simple 60 Hz sinusoid to one of the analog channels of the board. I am using the Al Mult Pt.vi , found in the DAQ example vi palette in labview 6.0, to acquire the analog waveform. I am currently using the Max Min.vi to measure peak current, and the Basic DC/RMS.vi to measure RMS current. These VI's are embedded in a while loop which executes until the stop button is pressed.