From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how are resets generated in LabVIEW for FlexRIO

Solved!
Go to solution

All,

My background is VHDL and Verilog implementations for ASIC and FPGA.  I assume that LabVIEW has at some point, a single synchronous reset to all of its logic.  I am creating a design that will be instantiating sections of VHDL IP, via IP Integration Nodes. While writing up my spec, I need to describe how a reset is propagated to all the flops in the design which will be peer reviewed for correctness of results. I need to understand exactly how LabVIEW handles resets to other clock domains.

A simple case would be this:  I have an external 50 MHz source synchronous data interface, and will be some limited processing of the data in that 50 MHz domain using an IP integration node. This IP is designed to have flops reset synchronous to the 50 MHz clock.

Separately, I have my the bulk of my processing and storage to host (via DMA FIFO) in a 100 MHz clock domain derived from the 40 MHz base clock. I will be transferring data from 50 MHz to 100 MHz using a FIFO.  This processing in 100 MHz contains flops that are reset synchronously to the 100 MHz domain.

From this scenario, you see that I have two clock domains with synchronous resets.  I need to understand how LabVIEW FPGA creates the reset signals that are inputs to my IP integration nodes, in order to understand whether I need to incorporate any reset synchronization circuits within my VHDL.

Thanks for any help, and if you require any further details or context, please let me know and I will fill in additional details.

-Jim

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,562 Views)

Hey Jim,

There are really 2 resets we could be dealing with here.