LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

high sampling rate analog output problem

Hi all,

I am trying to get this labview code that an NI engineer wrote for us to work (the engineer wrote it for us about a year ago but the project got tabled until now...he is no longer with NI!).  What we need is code that can read a binary file of voltage data from the disk and stream it out through an analog output channel on a NIdaq 6251 to an ultrasonic capable speaker at high (350kHz) sampling rates.  (We are outputing synthesized ultrasonic mouse vocalizations).  Unfortunately I am a LabView newbie so I am really lost.  The code is attached.  We have contacted NI about helping with this but they have been clueless...I hope one of you can help!  I think the idea, if I remember correctly, is for the code to read the data into a software buffer so that reading from the disk, which I am assumming may be slow, will not interfere with the data going out to the speaker at the desired sampling rate...Right now it does not work (gives no errors that we can see) but the buffer does not seem to be filling...  To test it download a file I made that contains a binary file (16 bit signed integers) containing 5 seconds of a 90kHz, 1V amplitude sine wave sampled at 360kHz here http://www.keck.ucsf.edu/~schenk/testlabview.int16

Any help or insight you can give would be great!

katrin

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,724 Views)

Hi Finns,

I think your problem is to do with your 2nd top loop:

Stop not continue.png

You should have a stop condition terminal like shown above, yours is set to continue. This will cause your bottom loop to be stopped prematurely, before all its data has been read from your queue (buffer)

Rgs,

Lucither.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Everything should be made as simple as possible but no simpler"
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,703 Views)

Hi Finns,