LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

have to run event twice to get response

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, newbie here.  I made a little routine to take an ID number  entered by the user (generally 4 digits but not limited as such), and use an event structure to add an alpha prefix, and the current year as a suffix, then display the new string.  I'm trying to get a handle on how the event structure works, as well as the text, string, and date functions.  It works as it is but I have to run the event twice to get the right result.  Any suggestions or explanations are truly appreciated. 

PS  I also noticed that string and text functions don't work the same way.  The string control appended every time I entered a new ID number and would output its entire contents to the concatenate node and I couldn't figure out how to limit it to the current entry.   The text control gives me what I want but it only shows up in my "Express" menu, not classic or modern which would seem to have their own advantages in differing situations for formatting the screen, etc.   I suppose I could build another function to extract the desired portion but that seems like overkill.  Any hints? 

Thanks,  Jim

Message Edited by jim@smf.org on 02-24-2010 12:56 PM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,818 Views)
Just for funsies, here is the one with the string control.
Message Edited by jim@smf.org on 02-24-2010 12:59 PM
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,815 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jim@smf.org

Does this do what you want it to do?

You have to have the string control read inside the A event case.

When you run your VI it read the string control before it waits at the event case. So if you do not enter the string before you hit the run arrow you will not get the correct string. Then when you run it the 2nd time the string is already in the string control for it to read.

That is why you had to run it twice.

Message Edited by Omar II on 02-24-2010 01:11 PM
Omar