LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

formula with U16 input and DLB result

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I'm new to Labview and I'm using a VI previously made by a colleague.

I'm foundind a problem in a simple formula wich has a U16 input, X1 and the formula is (X1*10)/2**16-5 , connected to a DLB output

I'm using Labview 2011 and when I open the VI in a Windows XP, it works fine, but in a Windows 7, it gives wrong result. I've debugged and found that if placing only X1*10 in windows 7 it is limited to 65535 (16 bit?) while in Windows XP it gives the right result.

In windows xp, the "result" word and the wiring to the numerical output are orange (DBL?), while in Windows 7 they stay blue (U16?) and a red point appears on the connection to the numerical output.

Does anyone know what might be the cause of this different and annoying behaviour and how to fix that?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,807 Views)

Hello,

I am an Applications Engineer at National Instruments UK.

From what I can understand, your VI works fine when used in Windows XP but gives the wrong result in Windows 7. To help with the problem it would be useful to find out what you have already attempted to troubleshoot the problem. Have you tried to right-click the numeric indicator in Window's 7 and select Representation >> U16?

If you have already attempted the above step then it may be useful for you to attach the VI in a reply to this post and I will try to run it on Windows 7 and see if I can make it work.

Let me know if this helps and if not I will continue to assist you. Best of luck.

Regards

David B
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,796 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author renatogsousa

Hello Renatogsousa,