cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

find indices of elements in 1d array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello you all,

i am a very beginner in programming and using labview, so I apologies for any banality i might write.

I have a 1D array of numbers (1600 elements) and I would like to know the indices (of that array) of all the elements that are <1 and >-1. 

Is there any suggestion? I am not completely aware of all the potential functions I may use. 

Thank you very much for your help

Gio'

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(7,339 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Giostra

This is one way to do it..

You would wire your array to "Your Array" Control and the output is a 1D array with the indeces of elements in between -1 and 1

ArrayComp.png

CLD | CTD
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(7,332 Views)

Well let's talk you through it. You'll have to do some sort of boolean logic for <1 and >-1. You'll have to do this for every element in the array. And then you'll have to output the indices of those elements.

You can use the In Range function to get an array of booleans corresponding with your array. This should result in an array where all elements that fall within your criteria are now a True boolean.

The next part is a little tricky. You could iterate through the array and output indices for all True values... but guess what, there's an awesome VI set that you can use called OpenG. OpenG contains a function called Search Array, which can receive an array and output an array of indices. (Find the OpenG in VI Package Manager and install)

In Range Array.png

Edit: Careful with Chris's solution because the In Range function is set to include upper and lower limits as in-range. You can change these settings using the right-click menu on that input.

Cheers

--------,       Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines                                           ,--------

'---   >The shortest distance between two nodes is a straight wire>   ---'

0 Kudos