From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fast image rotation and contrast adaptation

First: I'm new in vision processing. Smiley Wink

I'm using LabView 8.0 with the IMAQ Vision development module. The aim is to control the angle and the contrast of a precalculated image (a greyscale wedge) in a fast loop with a framerate of 60 or 100Hz. Currently I use the time-consuming IMAQ rotate and IMAQ BCG functions. All these function works very fine but a litle bit to slow for my application. I have measure: IMAQ rotate with 40ms and IMAQ BCG with 15ms for an image with 1024 x 768 pixels (8-bit greyscale) on a new PC. I know that an arbitrary rotation is a processor intensive task.

Please correct me, but i assume that with IMAQ rotate the image rotation will be carried out in the PC RAM. Afterwards the recalculated image will be written in the grafic memory. In a final step the image will be displayed on the monitor by mean of the grafic processor.

I can imagine there exist a solution or some ideas in the LabView community to use the high end 3D very fast grafic card processor for the rotation and contrast tasks. I hope the approach will accelerate the time of calculation.

Thanks for your help.

Best regards

Ivo Buske

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,899 Views)

"ibstein74" <x@no.email> wrote in message news:1142460732409-338548@exchange.ni.com...
First: I'm new in vision processing. Smiley Wink
&nbsp;