From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

event triggeed front panel controls best practices

I have a general question about best practices in regards to front panel controls and event structures.... I've read that it's not good to poll your controls on your front panel, and that it's better to have them as events and just let them trigger an event whenever they have a change in value... is this true?  I'm pretty new to labview and I'm just trying to not fall into any bad habits.... I've never done it this way, does this mean that if I have say ten different controls on my front panel that I will go and make an event case for each one?  Does it matter how many event cases I make? cause I could see this growing into a bunch of cases real quick if I make one for every control on my front panel....

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,193 Views)

There is nothing wrong with polling if it is done at reasonable intervals and not millions of times per second. Long ago, we did not even have the event structure. 😄

Still events are better. 😉

Fibo wrote:

I've never done it this way, does this mean that if I have say ten different controls on my front panel that I will go and make an event case for each one?  Does it matter how many event cases I make? cause I could see this growing into a bunch of cases real quick if I make one for every control on my front panel....

You can assign the same event case to multiple events. For example if you have controls A and B and output C (e.g. for A+B=C), you would create a single event case for A(value changed), B(Value changed) and inside the event case you would place the A and B terminal, the math, and the C terminal. It will recalculate if A or A changes.