LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

creating and working a myRIO project without connecting to myRIO hardware

Greetings everyone!  First the question, then the background:  In LabVIEW myRIO 2017, is there a way to create a myRIO project without actually being connected to the myRIO hardware?  When we try using Generic Target, we end up with empty function and controls pallets.

I've attached screen shots of the various steps we've taken and errors that we've encountered.

software: LabVIEW 2017 myRIO, which I understand is a LabVIEW NXG platform.

hardware: myRIO 1900 (USB 2.0, Wi-Fi)

As a bit of background, I'm a robotics teacher at a local vocational school and this semester I'm embarking on teaching the students some essentials of LabView.  The grand scheme is after 4 years to have our high school students leave with essential knowledge of programming across multiple platforms (C++, PLC / ladder logic, LabView as well as perhaps a bit of Arduino if time allows).  I have a bit of LabView experience but am new to the myRIO hardware platform.

My students are working in pairs with one myRIO per pair.  (Each student has their own LabView seat license, but we only had budget for 1 hardware kit per 2 students.)  I want each person to construct their own projects in LabView to read their ambient light sensor, but in order to create a myRIO project, it appears that each student must remain connected to their myRIO.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,089 Views)

Hi Dan,

I'm not sure what the state of support for myRIO is in NXG, but from Capture7.jpg I can see that you're running your code in LabVIEW 2017 (this is different to NXG).